SELECTION AND MEMBER SERVICES COMMITTEE

MINUTES of a meeting of the Selection and Member Services Committee held in the Cabinet Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Tuesday, 9 July 2013.

PRESENT: Mrs A D Allen (Chairman), Mr P B Carter, Mr G Cooke, Mrs T Dean, Ms A Harrison, Mr R A Latchford, OBE (Substitute for Mr C P D Hoare), Mrs P A V Stockell (Substitute) (Substitute for Mr M C Dance) and Mr B J Sweetland

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr A Wood (Corporate Director of Finance and Procurement), Mr G Wild (Director of Governance and Law), Mr P Sass (Head of Democratic Services) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

18. Minutes - 5 June 2013

(Item 3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 5 June 2013 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

19. Members' Travel Expenses

(Item 4)

(1) The Director of Governance and Law advised the Committee that elected Members had a specific legal exemption which enabled them to corporately discuss and determine Allowances.

(2) The Corporate Director of Finance and Procurement advised the Committee that Option 2 in the report would be acceptable to Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC). He agreed to seek written confirmation of this advice from HMRC.

(3) Pursuant to Committee Procedure Rule 2.26 (4) the Committee agreed to record the way in which all Members cast their vote in respect of recommending Option 2 as its preferred Option to the Remuneration Panel.

(4) Accordingly, the Chairman then put the proposition to the vote:

For (7)

Mrs A D Allen, Mr P B Carter, Mr G Cooke, Ms A Harrison, Mr R Latchford, Mrs P A V Stockell, Mr B J Sweetland.

Against (0)

Abstain (1)

Mrs T Dean

Carried

(5) The Committee also agreed that the necessary deductions for tax and National Insurance Contributions (NICs) would take effect from 1 July 2013.

- (6) RESOLVED that:-
 - (a) the necessary deductions for tax and NICs from Members' travel claims be made with effect from 1 July 2013;
 - (b) the Corporate Director of Finance and Procurement be requested to seek written confirmation from HMRC that it would consider Option 2 in the report to be acceptable; and
 - (c) subject to HMRC giving no view to the contrary, the Remuneration Panel be requested to consider the Options set out in the report in the light of the Committee's preference for Option 2.

20. Member Allowances and Expenses 2012/13

(Item 5)

RESOLVED that: -

- (a) the report be noted; and
- (b) approval be given to the publication of the Members' allowances and expenses for 2012/13 as detailed in Appendix A to the report and as required by the Local Authorities (Members' Allowances) (England) Regulations 2003.

21. Committee Membership

(Item 6)

RESOLVED that:-

- (a) the following Committee appointments be recommended to the County Council:-
 - (i) Governance and Audit Committee: Mr Martin Whybrow;
 - (ii) Planning Applications Committee: Mr Peter Harman; and
 - (iii) Regulation Committee: Mr Peter Harman; and
- (b) the appointment of Mr Martin Whybrow to the Environment, Highways and Waste Cabinet Committee be noted.

22. Appointments to Outside Bodies

(Item 7)

(1) The Committee delegated the filling of those vacancies that remained following consideration of this item to the Head of Democratic Services in

consultation with the Cabinet Portfolio Holder for Corporate and Democratic Services and the Chairman of the Committee.

(2) The Committee agreed the nominations set out in Appendices 1 and 2 of the report with the following amendments:-

- (a) Alliance (formerly Coalfield Communities Campaign): Mrs E D Rowbotham appointed instead of Mr G Lymer;
- (b) Dungeness Local Community Liaison Council: Mr D Baker appointed;
- (c) Powell Cotton Museum Trust: Mr R A Latchford appointed; and
- (d) Royal School for Deaf Children: Mr W Scobie appointed instead of Mr M J Northey.

(3) In confirming the appointment of Mr L B Ridings, the Committee agreed that, in the light of The Duke of York's Royal Military School becoming an academy, future nominations the School would be delegated to the Governor Appointments Panel.

(4) In respect of Appendix 5 to the report, the Committee agreed to cease to make appointments to Dorton House School and the Kent History Project. It also requested that the Head of Democratic Services investigate the need for appointments to be made to the Ashford Grammar School Endowment Fund; Collis Green Millennium Trust; the Lady Joanna Thornhill School Foundation; and Lady Margaret Boswell's CE Educational Charity. All other nominations set out in that Appendix were confirmed.

- (5) RESOLVED that:-
 - (a) the appointments and nominations of representatives of the County Council be made as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes;
 - (b) the Head of Democratic Services be given delegated powers in consultation with the Cabinet Portfolio Holder for Corporate and Democratic Services to fill the remaining vacancies in Appendices 1 and 2 of the report; and
 - (c) The Head of Democratic Services be requested to investigate the need for appointments to be made to those Outside Bodies set out in (4) above.

23. Member Development

(Item 8)

RESOLVED that the report be noted.

This page is intentionally left blank

APPENDIX (Paragraph 22 of the Minutes refers)

Outside Body

Action for Communities in Rural Kent (ACRK) Community Halls Committee ACRK Community Rail Partnership Steering Group

ACRK Management Committee Alliance

Cranbrook School

Gatwick Airport Consultative Committee High Weald AONB JAC Hugh and Montague Leney Awards Trust Kent Association of Local Councils Kent Big Society Investment Panel

Kent County Playing Fields Association Kent County Staff and Social Club Kent International Airport Consultative Committee Kent Music Board of Directors

Kent People's Trust LGA Coastal Issues Special Interest Group LGA County Councils Network

LGA General Assembly

LGA Public Transport Consortium LGA Rural Commission LGA Urban Commission Margate Renewal Partnership Museum of Kent Life Trust Rochester Airport Consultative Committee Rochester Bridge Trust

Southern Regional Flood and Coastal Committee

South East Employers

Vinters Valley Park Trust Visit Kent Board Yalding Educational Trust

Appointee

Mr M J Northey Mr M A C Balfour Mr A D Crowther Mr C Simkins Mr S C Manion Mrs E D Rowbotham Mr A J Kina Mr A Cooper Mr M A C Balfour Mr P J Oakford Mr S C Manion Mrs P A V Stockell Mr P M Hill Mr M A Wickham Mr R A Latchford Mr M A Wickham Mr G Cooke Mr R A Marsh Mrs S V Hohler Mr L B Ridings Mr T Gates Mr M J Harrison Mr P B Carter Mr J D Simmonds Mr P B Carter (11 votes) Mr J D Simmonds Mr D L Brazier Mrs P A V Stockell (1 vote) Mr P B Carter (12 votes) Mr S Holden Mr D L Brazier Mr R A Marsh Mr P J Homewood (to May 2015) Mr B J Sweetland (to May 2017) Mr A H T Bowles Mr M J Harrison Mr M C Dance Mrs P A V Stockell Mr G Cooke Mr M C Dance Mrs P A V Stockell

This page is intentionally left blank